PATRICIA SEGURA’S
SECOND LIFE

To compete at the highest level, to progress again and again, to transmit knowledge in perpetual evolution. These are the three ambitions of the Swiss and Spanish rider.

Patricia_Segura_Cavalière_Internationale

Patricia Segura

CONTACT US

After putting in pause my participation in Swiss competitions, some thought I had stopped competing all together. I just took a new path…”, smiles Patricia Segura. Discreet, the experienced rider doesn’t like to get ahead. “I don’t know how to sell myself, I’m not very interested…” she confides. However, the young “quadra” has never competed as much as she has in the last two years. But from now on, it is all over Europe that, under the Spanish banner, she defies the bars, well positioned in the footsteps of her mentor, the Italian international rider, Luca Moneta. “Luca gives me the opportunity to follow him on major international competitions. I am lucky to have become his student…”, she explains. A chance that owes nothing to luck, as the meeting of the two riders seemed to have been written.

The first time she saw him evolve, Luca Moneta rode a horse she knew well in Rome. And for good reason, she broke it in herself and rode it until it was six years old before having to part with it. “When I saw what Luca was able to do with such a sensitive horse, it impressed me,” she recalls. A few years later, another horse will precipitate their meeting.

Patricia then took charge of Champs d’or, a young horse that seemed to suffer as soon as he was ridden or even approached. “He was like tetanized with pain. We couldn’t get anything from him…”, describes Patricia Segura. She had him examined by the Swiss veterinarian, Thomas Wagner, who came to the conclusion that the illness he was suffering from was not of physical origin. Therefore healthy in body but for his mind the specialist’s recommendation was based on a single name: Moneta.

Natural approach

Immediately, the cap was set for Italy. “Luca had never seen a horse in this condition before and the other horses systematically attacked him”, continues the rider. In a few months of work, Luca Moneta managed to calm the animal down and restore the instinct and dignity it seemed to have lost. And above all, to make him accept the presence of a rider on his back. “Since then, Champs d’or has shown everything he can by ranking in 130 and 140 on the 2019 Sunshine Tour. This horse has genius,” enthuses Patricia Segura.

Based on the observation and understanding of the horse’s personality, Moneta’s method, known as the natural approach, aims to find the right compromise: to be accepted and understood by the animal while preserving its body and mind.

Patricia Segura Luca Moneta

“Working with Luca, I learned speed and regained feelings I had as a child with my first mare… “

A method in freedom – without spurs, without large mouthpieces or complicated chambons – in which Patricia Segura immerses herself. “Working with Luca, I learned speed and regained feelings I had as a child with my first mare. At the time, without knowing it, I was always letting her add an extra stride in front of the bars because I felt that it was the right thing for her,” she says.

Since the beginning of her collaboration with Moneta, the good results in CSI have followed one another, even if Patricia Segura measures the experience she still has to acquire on the major events. She therefore multiplies competitions and training in Uggiate-Trevano, near Como in Lombardy in the equestrian area of Luca Moneta. At the same time, she continues her teaching and coaching activity in Geneva (Switzerland) at the Centre équestre de Versoix – La Bâtie where her private stable has been in residence for five years.

An organisational challenge for the Segura Horse Team’s management, but above all an opportunity for all the students to benefit from a constantly evolving experience with no filters. “In my classes, I do what Luca does with me. I bring something new to their riding and when my students feel they have understood, I send another one… Even if the basics remain important, I want them to learn to feel without using their heads too much.” says Patricia Segura, who is determined to pass on all the good things that this second life brings her.

July 2019

0
YEARS OF EXPERIENCE
0
ENTRIES IN INTERNATIONAL EVENTS*
0
INTERNATIONAL VICTORIES (EIF)

*As of June 15th, 2021

HER BACKGROUND

Patricia Segura started riding at an early age. At the age of 18, she chose to make it her profession despite family reticence and followed an apprenticeship as a horsewoman under the direction of the Geneva master rider, Francis Menoud. He will teach her the basics of the job, the values of effort and respect for the animal. With her CFC in her pocket, she remained at his side for three more years, completing her training with a Federal Certificate and numerous training workshops. She then worked as an independent, first as a travelling horsewoman, then within various breeding farms in the French-speaking part of Switzerland, specialising herself in the training of young horses. In 2012, a breeder noticed her and entrusted her with her younglings, with which she competed first in Switzerland, then today throughout Europe up to the grand prix level. Check her profil IEF. 

JOIN US NOW

LA SECONDE VIE
DE PATRICIA SEGURA

Concourir au plus haut niveau, progresser encore et toujours, transmettre un savoir en perpétuelle évolution. Telles sont les trois ambitions de la cavalière helvético-espagnole.

Patricia_Segura_Cavalière_Internationale

Patricia Segura

SEGURA_HORSE_TEAM

Isha, sa fidèle labrador.

CONTACTEZ-NOUS

Ne me voyant plus monter en Suisse, certains pensaient que j’avais arrêté la compétition. J’ai juste emprunté une nouvelle voie…”, sourit Patricia Segura. Discrète, la cavalière chevronnée n’aime guère se mettre avant. “Je ne sais pas me vendre, cela ne m’intéresse pas beaucoup…”, confie-t-elle.
La jeune “quadra” n’a pourtant jamais autant concouru que depuis ces deux dernières années. Mais dorénavant, c’est dans toute l’Europe que, sous bannière espagnole, elle défie les barres, bien calée dans les pas de son mentor, le cavalier international italien, Luca Moneta. “Luca me donne l’opportunité de le suivre sur de grandes compétitions internationales. J’ai la chance d’être devenue son élève…”, explique-t-elle. Une chance qui ne doit rien au hasard tant la rencontre des deux cavaliers semblait écrite.

La première fois qu’elle le voit évoluer, Luca Moneta monte à Rome un cheval qu’elle connaît bien. Et pour cause, elle l’a elle-même débourré et monté jusqu’à l’âge de six ans avant de devoir s’en séparer. “Quand j’ai vu ce que Luca était capable de faire avec un cheval aussi sensible, cela m’avait impressionné”, se souvient-elle. Quelques années plus tard, c’est une autre monture qui précipitera leur rencontre.

Patricia prend alors en charge Champs d’or, un jeune cheval qui semble souffrir dès qu’il est monté, voire même approché. “Il était comme tétanisé de douleurs. Nous ne pouvions rien obtenir de lui…”, décrit Patricia Segura. Elle le fait examiner par le vétérinaire suisse, Thomas Wagner, qui arrive à la conclusion que le mal dont il est atteint n’est pas d’origine physique. Sain de corps donc, mais pour l’esprit, la recommandation du spécialiste tient en un seul nom : Moneta.

Approche naturelle

Aussitôt dit, direction l’Italie. “Luca n’avait jamais vu un cheval dans cet état et les autres chevaux l’attaquaient systématiquement”, poursuit la cavalière. En quelques mois de travail, Luca Moneta parvient à calmer l’animal et à lui rendre l’instinct et la dignité qu’il semblait avoir perdu. Et surtout à lui faire accepter la présence d’un cavalier sur son dos. “Depuis, Champs d’or a montré tout ce dont il était capable en classant en 130 et 140 lors du Sunshine Tour 2019. Ce cheval a du génie !”, s’enthousiasme Patricia Segura.

Fondée sur l’observation et la compréhension de la personnalité du cheval, la méthode de Moneta, dite d’approche naturelle, vise à rechercher le bon compromis : être accepté et compris par l’animal tout en préservant son corps et son esprit.

Patricia Segura Luca Moneta

“En travaillant avec Luca, j’ai appris la vitesse et j’ai retrouvé des sensations ressenties, enfant, avec ma première jument… “

Une méthode en liberté – sans éperons, sans grandes embouchures ni enrênements compliqués – dans laquelle Patricia Segura s’immerge. “En travaillant avec Luca, j’ai appris la vitesse et j’ai retrouvé des sensations ressenties, enfant, avec ma première jument. À l’époque, sans le savoir, je faisais toujours avec elle une foulée supplémentaire devant les barres parce que cela lui convenait”, raconte-t-elle.

Depuis le début de sa collaboration avec Luca Moneta, les bons résultats en CSI se suivent, même si Patricia Segura mesure l’expérience qui lui reste encore à acquérir sur les grandes épreuves. Elle multiplie donc les compétitions et les entraînements à Uggiate-Trevano, près de Côme en Lombardie, dans le domaine équestre de Luca Moneta en Italie. Elle poursuit en parallèle son activité d’enseignement et de coaching à Genève (Suisse) au Centre équestre de Versoix – La Bâtie où son écurie privée est en résidence depuis cinq ans.

Un challenge organisationnel pour l’encadrement du Segura Horse Team, mais surtout une chance pour tous ses élèves qui bénéficient, sans filtre, d’une expérience en perpétuelle évolution. “Dans mes cours, je fais ce que Luca fait avec moi. Je lance un nouveau truc et lorsque mes élèves ont l’impression d’avoir compris, j’en envoie un autre… Même si les bases restent importantes, je veux qu’ils apprennent à ressentir sans trop utiliser leur tête. Je laisse le soin ensuite à mon binôme, Émilie, de leur remettre les idées à l’endroit”, livre Patricia Segura, bien déterminée à transmettre tout ce que cette seconde vie lui apportera de bon.

Juillet 2019

0
ANNÉES D’EXPÉRIENCE
0
PARTICIPATIONS EN ÉPREUVE INTERNATIONALE*
0
VICTOIRES INTERNATIONALES (FEI)

*Au 3 mars 2020

PARCOURS

Patricia Segura débute l’équitation dès le plus jeune âge. À 18 ans, elle choisit d’en faire sa profession malgré les réticences familiales et suit un apprentissage d’écuyère sous la direction du maître cavalier genevois, Francis Menoud. Il lui inculquera les bases du métier, les valeurs d’effort et de respect de l’animal. Son CFC en poche, elle reste trois années supplémentaires à ses côtés, complétant sa formation d’un brevet fédéral et de nombreux stages d’entraînement. Elle exerce ensuite en indépendante, d’abord écuyère itinérante, puis au sein de différents élevages de Suisse romande, en se spécialisant sur la formation des jeunes chevaux. En 2012, une éleveuse la remarque et lui confie ses montures avec lesquels elle concourt d’abord en Suisse, puis aujourd’hui dans toute l’Europe jusqu’au niveau grand prix. Consulter son profil FEI.